The purpose of the IFBF is to raise the profile of flow batteries as a crucial technology within the electrical energy storage sector. We believe this is timely and relevant as the need to educate and inform a wide audience of the benefits, features and attributes of flow batteries.

Electricity storage technologies are attracting increasing levels of interest, not only from those who manage the world’s power systems but also from those who invest in plant and equipment, manufacturing, project development and asset operation, as well as those who are end consumers of electrical power. There has been a notable growth in electrical energy storage, especially for battery-based systems. However, with a variety of battery technology types on offer to the market, it is vital to ensure that the benefits of flow battery systems are recognised and understood; and that purchasers and users of battery-based electrical energy storage technologies make wise choices in the marketplace.

Each year we organise an IFBF conference: bringing together users, industry, manufacturers, suppliers and academics to meet, learn, discuss and raise the profile of flow batteries. Our agenda is guided by the proposals from delegates for presentations and posters. We offer a mix of topics ranging from the latest commercial developments in flow battery projects, supply of raw materials and components as well as the latest research from laboratories, universities and public and private companies from around the world for discussion in the conference. We have presentations on a range of chemistries and configurations, discuss current and future applications as well as holding discussions on commercialisation and research and development priorities.

We thank our organising committee and industry advisory group for their continued support.

Join the IFBF mailing list